Optimizers will have to evacuate from Cayman and Panama

Опубликовано: 24.02.2020

For what punished beginners

The reason why the four countries became involved in the EU black list was their failure to fulfill their obligations. Palau was “punished” for not introducing an automatic exchange of financial information and for signing the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters(OECD Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance).

Seychelles suffered for “harmful” preferential tax treatment. Panama, in the opinion of the European Union, still does not fully comply with the principles outlined by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Taxation and Information Exchange upon Request.

Caymans – have not worked enough to implement the requirements for controlling collective investment.

At the moment, in addition to the “newcomers” to the “black” list are American Samoa, Fiji, Guam, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu. This list was first introduced in 2017, and the next revision of the list is scheduled for October 2020.

What barriers to cooperation will be established

EU countries have seriously taken on deoffshorization and the fight against aggressive tax planning (when companies use imperfections or inconsistencies in tax laws of different countries to reduce the tax burden).

Therefore, they are very meticulously monitoring the implementation of new standards of control over the completeness of tax payments and the exchange of tax information. Blacklisting is fraught with limited investment and business opportunities for jurisdictions that have fallen out of favor.

Firstly, the funds of the Sustainable Development Fund (EFSD) and the European Fund for Strategic Investments (EFSI) will not be able to go through organizations located in the states from the “black” list.

Secondly, servicing schemes involving counterparties from such jurisdictions is becoming much more expensive.

This is because for multinational corporations working with such jurisdictions, requirements for public reporting are increasing. In addition, EU member states may introduce additional tax measures. For example:

-forbid the inclusion in costs of expenses and payments directed to legal entities or individuals in jurisdictions included in the black list;

-introduce higher income tax rates on interest, royalties, service or remuneration fees and other payments received from blacklisted countries.

Schemes will have to be changed

As a rule, no one works directly with offshore companies. But they can be included in the optimization chain, which also includes companies with a European “residence permit”. Now, “newcomers” from the “black” list will have to be excluded from optimization schemes. And that’s why:

• any company from the EU countries will very carefully check all financial transactions involving individuals and legal entities, including financial institutions, from the “black” list countries. Europeans try not to work with companies from “fiscally unreliable” countries.

• Not all banks agree to work with blacklisted companies or residents. In any case, opening an account in a European bank for a resident of jurisdiction from the “black” list is problematic. Any transaction with a counterparty from such jurisdiction falls under tightened control. Banks can pause the transaction and hold funds until the essence of the transaction is clarified and the information about the counterparty is carefully checked. Some EU countries have introduced a tax on offshore operations.

• For companies registered in the countries on the list, additional measures of financial and investment control will be applied.

• Additional taxation of transactions with residents of these countries.

• Additional control by tax authorities and additional reporting on such transactions.

How painful is this for our business? The answer to this question can be found in the data of the State Statistics Service. For example, last year, imports of services from Panama showed an increase of 33% compared to the results of 2018.

Assessing the degree to which our companies use other offshore companies is more difficult. Since the State Statistics Service did not disclose the results of trading with them at the end of 2019, referring to the confidentiality of such information. But, say, according to the results of 2018, the export of services to the Cayman Islands increased by 87% compared to 2017.

The article was prepared by Vladimir Garkusha, Managing Partner of KAC Group

source: Минфин

 

Будьте в курсе свежих новостей и событий!



Позвонить Отправить Email

Оптимизаторам придется эвакуироваться с Кайман и Панамы

Опубликовано: 24.02.2020

За что наказали новичков

Причиной, по которой четыре страны стали фигурантами «черного» списка ЕС, стало невыполнение ими взятых на себя обязательств. Палау была «наказана» за то, что не внедрила автоматический обмен финансовой информацией и не подписала Конвенцию о взаимной административной помощи по налоговым делам (OECD Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance).

 

Сейшелы пострадали за «вредные» льготные налоговые режимы. Панама, по мнению Евросоюза, еще не полностью соответствует принципам, очерченным Глобальным форумом по прозрачности и обмену информацией для целей налогообложения и обмена информацией по запросу.

 

Кайманы — недостаточно поработали над внедрением требований по контролю над коллективным инвестированием.

 

На данным момент помимо «новичков» в «черном» списке находятся Американское Самоа, Фиджи, Гуам, Оман, Самоа, Тринидад и Тобаго, Виргинские острова США и Вануату. Впервые этот список был введен в 2017 году, а следующий пересмотр списка предусмотрен в октябре 2020 года

 

Какие барьеры для сотрудничества будут установлены

 

Cтраны ЕС серьезно взялись за деофшоризацию и борьбу с агрессивным налоговым планированием (когда компании используют несовершенство или нестыковки налоговых законодательств разных стран для снижения налоговой нагрузки).

 

А потому очень скрупулезно следят за внедрением новых стандартов контроля над полнотой уплаты налогов и обмена налоговой информацией. Внесение в «черный» список чревато ограничением инвестиционных и деловых возможностей для попавших в немилость юрисдикций.

 

Во-первых, средства Фонда устойчивого развития (EFSD) и Европейского фонда стратегических инвестиций (EFSI) не смогут направляться через организации, расположенные в государствах из «черного» списка».

 

Во-вторых, обслуживание схем с участием контрагентов из таких юрисдикций становится значительно дороже.

 

Это происходит потому, что для транснациональных корпораций, работающих с такими юрисдикциями, увеличиваются требования к публичной отчётности. Кроме того, страны-участницы ЕС могут внедрить дополнительные налоговые меры. Например:

 

  • запретить включение в затраты расходов и платежей, направленных юридическим или физическим лицам в юрисдикциях, включенных в «черный» список;
  • внедрить более высокие ставки подоходного налога на проценты, роялти, плату за обслуживание или вознаграждение и другие платежи, получаемые из стран «черного» списка.

Схемы придется менять

Как правило, напрямую с офшорами уже никто не работает. Но они могут входить в оптимизационную цепочку, в которую также «подвязываются» и компании с европейской «пропиской». Теперь же «новичков» из «черного» списка придется исключить из оптимизационных схем. И вот почему:

 

  • любая компания из стран ЕС очень тщательно будет проверять все финансовые операции с участием физических и юридических лиц, включая финансовые институты, из государств «черного» списка. Европейцы стараются не работать с компаниями из «фискально неблагонадежных» стран.
  • Далеко не все банки согласятся работать с компаниями или резидентами из «черного» списка. В любом случае, открыть счет в европейском банке для резидента юрисдикции из «черного» списка проблематично. Любая сделка с контрагентом из такой юрисдикции попадает под усиленный контроль. Банки могут приостановить транзакцию и удерживать средства до выяснения сути операции и тщательной проверки информации о контрагенте. Отдельные страны ЕС ввели налог на операции с офшорами.
  • К компаниям, зарегистрированным в странах из списка, будут применяться дополнительные меры финансового и инвестиционного контроля.
  • Дополнительное налогообложение сделок с резидентами этих стран.
  • Дополнительный контроль налоговых органов и дополнительная отчетность по таким сделкам.

Насколько болезненно это для нашего бизнеса? Ответ на этот вопрос можно поискать в данных Госстата. Например, по результатам прошлого года импорт услуг из Панамы показал прирост в 33% к результатам 2018 г.

 

Оценить степень использования нашими компаниями других офшоров сложнее. Поскольку Госстат не обнародовал результаты торговли с ними по итогам 2019 г, ссылаясь на конфиденциальность такой информации. Но, скажем, по результатам 2018 г экспорт услуг на Кайманы прирос по сравнению с 2017 г на 87%.

 

Статью подготовил управляющий партнер KAC Group Владимир Гаркуша

 

Источник: Минфин https://minfin.com.ua/2020/02/24/41016982/

Будьте в курсе свежих новостей и событий!



Позвонить Отправить Email